Old Fashioned Fresh Apple Cake Recipe

We did it! Recipe Tested and updated! 9/11/2020

Please join me in the Facebook Group Vintage Recipe Test and Share. It’s a small but growing community working together to test vintage recipes so I can preserve them by sharing here. This is our first recipe tested as a community and I hope it’s the start of many more!

Vintage recipe card. Large chicken image makes up the body of the card. Recipe for Fresh Apple Bread is typed.

This recipe card is probably one of my favorites. The design is adorable and bright. Folding in half like that really makes it easier to use! Oh how I wish I could find cute cards like this for myself! Do you use recipe cards still or find everything online? What size do you prefer? Locally I can only ever find the modern, larger 4×6 size so it’s what I use. Once I make one of the vintage recipes I copy it to save in my collection and return the card to the box it came in.

I wish I knew who Erma is. This recipe was in the box I purchased at an estate sale in Michigan. I always think of the mystery lady who’s collection I purchased. She kept a very organized box (like Grandma R) and I love to look through the different categories for inspiration.

Baked apple cake.
Photo from River V.

A huge thank you to Jennifer C and River V for testing this recipe and sharing your pictures and thoughts. I appreciate your help and support in making it so vintage recipes like this Fresh Apple Cake are preserved for years to come!

Thick dough for apple cake before baking.
Jennifer C’s Fresh Apple Cake before being baked.

As you can see Erma was not kidding when she said the dough will be thick!

Reviews for Old Fashioned Fresh apple Cake from testers

From Jennifer C: My entire house smells ahhhhh-mazing and I can’t wait to just blow my “diet” and eat it.  It took half the amount of time to cook. Was done in about 32 minutes. It has a weird texture and consistency. Very dense, more like a bread or brownie, texture is chewy and top is crunchy. Flavor is amazing though.

River V: It was ready after 45 minutes instead of an hour. This was my first time making it but I will definitely be making it for fall and winter holidays in the future cause of its simplicity.

Super Cat: I made this for a picnic last weekend and it was a hit! While making it, I was very surprised at how thick the dough was, but it came out very moist and was most similar to a coffee cake

Tips for making Fresh Apple Cake

  • Chop your apples very small. This extra effort will improve the taste and texture of your cake.
  • Be sure that your butter is soft or at room temperature.
  • Check to see if it is done at 30 minutes. A knife or toothpick should come out clean when it is done.
Baked apple cake with almost brownie texture.
Jennifer C’s baked Apple Cake.
I think room temperature butter and even smaller apples would help the texture to be more like a coffee cake than a brownie. Delicious any way!

Old Fashioned Fresh Apple Cake

  • Servings: 10-12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Rating: ★★★★★
  • Print

An easy cake using fresh apples. Perfect for Fall.


Credit: YourEverydayHeirlooms.com

Ingredients

  • 2 Cups unsifted flour
  • 2 Cups granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 4 Cups finely diced, pared raw apple about 1/2 pound
  • 1/2 Cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 Cup soft butter or oleo
  • 2 eggs
  • Confectioners sugar to dust

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F. Grease a 13x9x2 pan.
  2. Into a large bowl sift flour with granulated sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.
  3. Add apple, nuts, butter, and eggs. Beat until just combined. It will be thick.
  4. Turn into prepared pan and bake 1 hour or until top springs back.
  5. Cool slightly in pan on a wire rack. Sprinkle with confectioners sugar if desired.
  6. Serve warm, cut into squares. Top with whipped cream or ice cream if desired.

Nutrition

Per Serving: 332 calories; 11.7 g fat; 55.3 g carbohydrates; 4.5 g protein; 27 mg cholesterol; 398 mg sodium.

Other recipes that need testing are Loretta Yoder’s Meatballs, 3 Sourdough Recipes that aren’t bread, and Spoon Cornbread.

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

12 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Fresh Apple Cake Recipe

  1. Thank you for this apple cake recipe. Its just like I remembered from my grandmother making. However instead of butter she used buttermilk and put cranberries in it. She’s from Maine. Thank you again.

    Like

Leave a comment