Meatball Oven Stew: Easy to Make Low Carb or Gluten Free

Another vintage recipe that is easy to modify and make low carb and/or gluten free. Yes!

For low carb: Swap the cornmeal and flour for almond flour. Use cauliflower instead of potatoes.

For gluten free: Use your favorite gluten free flour to thicken the sauce. I used almond flour. You could also just use corn starch.

This was another recipe from my father in laws recipe box. So many forgotten gems!

I posted my meal plan for the week on my Facebook page. Nicol said it was “exactly like my grandma used to make”. Of course that made me even more excited to try it!

Since it was the night 5 extra teen boys eat dinner here I doubled the meatballs and also decided to serve it with mashed potatoes instead of a stew. Kids can be picky and I needed to please the masses.

I should not have worried and made it like the recipe called for. They devoured it! All that was left was carrots and sauce. I will be turning that into a stew. Definitely too yummy to waste.

Recipe card, recipe

As you can see this was a much used recipe. Look at those spots!

My changes were, use almond flour, no potatoes, and a regular onion in large chunks instead of the small onions. Next time I will use the potatoes. Would be delicious with other veggies as well.

Also I don’t have a 4qt casserole dish so I made do with a 9×13 baking dish, pie pan, and a square baking dish. Don’t let that stop you from trying this. It worked out fine even if it was more dishes to wash.

Meatball Oven Stew

  • 1 lb hamburger
  • 2 Tbsp chopped onion
  • 1/4 C corn meal
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp dry mustard
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 C milk
  • 1 slightly beaten egg
  • 1/4 C flour
  • 2 Tbsp fat
  • 2 C tomato juice
  • 3 potatoes quartered
  • 6 carrots halved
  • 12-18 small onions

Combine meat, onion,corn meal, seasonings, milk, and egg. Mix thoroughly and form 12 balls. 


In large skillet sprinkle meatballs with flour and brown in hot fat.

Place in 4 quart casserole.

Add remaining flour to fat in skillet, blend and add tomato juice. Cook until thick, pour over meatballs. Arrange vegetables around meatballs. Cover tightly.

Bake 350 degrees for 1 hour. Serves 6 to 8.

 



I hope you will try this soon! Please share on Facebook and don’t forget to pin on Pinterest!

We made this again and it was just as good!

2 thoughts on “Meatball Oven Stew: Easy to Make Low Carb or Gluten Free

Leave a comment